Archive Season 2014

Season 2014



SATURDAY 27th September at 11am
Coffee Concert
A Concerto, a Chat, and Cup of Tea… for a taste of SCMF.

Antonio Lucio Vivaldi (1678 – 1741)
‘IL GARDELLINO’ (The little Finch)
Concerto for flute and strings, Opus 10, No 3 in D Major.
Performed by Bridget Bolliger on flute and Monika Kornel on harpsichord.


SATURDAY 27th September, 7pm
Receiving a standing ovation
Faust Quartett
Simone Roggen, Annina Woehrle – violins
Ada Meinich – viola
Birgit Boehme – cello

Dikla Baniel (1967)
Bird Quartett No. 2 (2002)

Antonín Dvorák (1841-1904)
Cypresses for String Quartet no 1

I Know That on My Love to Thee
I know with sweet hope
That I can offer you my love
That you will cherish my love with Ardor
And when I look into
your eyes on this opulent night
I see all the power that love brings from the sky

Improvisition on Owls – Ada Meinich

Helena Winkelman (1974)
Quadriga Quartett (2011)
1st mov Kelpie – a Celtic water demon

Antonín Dvorák (1841-1904)
Cypresses for String Quartet“
No.11 ‘Nature lies Peaceful in Slumber and Dreaming’

Over the Landscape ruled by carefree dreams
A clear May night is outstretched
Gentle a breeze steals through the leaves
From the skies, calmness descends
Flowers slumber through the woods,
like a secretive choir, the brook sings
Opulent nature muses blissfully
Nothing remains that would bring conflict

John Psathas (1966)
Abhisheka (1996)
The word in sanskrit equivalent to ‘initiation’ is abhisheka, which means ‘anointment’ or ‘to sprinkle or pour’. And if there is pouring, there must be a vessel into which the pouring can fall. So at last we might really give up all these complications and just allow some space, just give in. This is the moment when abhisheka—sprinkling and pouring—really takes place, because we are open and are really giving up the whole attempt to do anything, giving up all the busyness and overcrowding. Finally we have been forced to really stop properly, which is quite a rare occurrence for us.

Antonín Dvorák (1841-1904)
Cypresses for String Quartet
No.9 ‘Though Only Dear One, but for Thee’

Oh you, my souls only dear one
who will live in my heart forever
my thoughts circle around you
Even though cruel fate surrounds us

Oh if I were a singing swan
I would fly to you and with my last breath
sing out my heart to you
Ah, with my last breath.


Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
String Quartet No14 ‘Death and the Maiden’
1. Allegro
2. Andante con moto
3. Scherzo
4. Presto

Oh! leave me! Prithee, leave me! thou grisly man of bone!
For life is sweet, is pleasant
Go! leave me now alone!
Go! leave me now alone!

Give me thy hand, oh! maiden fair to see
For I’m a friend, hath ne’er distress’d thee
Take courage now, and very soon
Within mine arms shalt softly rest thee


SUNDAY 28th September 2014, 7pm
Bridget Bolliger – Flute
Dimitri Ashkenazy – Clarinet
Teije Hylkema – Cello
Timothy Constable – Percussion

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750)
Flute Sonata in E flat Major BWV 1031 for flute, cello and marimba
Arr. Timothy Constable

Alan Holley (b.1954)
The birds will sing them off, for clarinet solo

Heitor Villa-Lobos (1887–1959)
Chôros No.2, for flute and clarinet

Charles-Camille Saint-Saëns (1835–1921)
The Swan, for Cello and Marimba
Arr. Timothy Constable


Olivier Messiaen (1908–1992)
Chronochomie antistrophe 2, full ensemble.
Arr. Timothy Constable

Paul Stanhope (b. 1969)
Dawn Lament, for solo cello

Nigel Westlake (b. 1958)
Fabian Theory, for marimba, 4 tom toms and digital delay

Heitor Villa-Lobos (1887–1959)
Piazzolla histoire du tango, for flute, clarinet ,marimba and cello
Arr. Timothy Constable